St. John's has been a part of the Georgetown Community for over 140 years.
We started as a group of Swedish immigrants who joined together in their homes to study, worship and pray and built our first church building in 1882. At that time, we were known as the Swedish Methodist Episcopal Brushy Church (Svenska Metodistkyrkan at Brushy).
The original church stood at the intersection of Westinghouse Road and FM 1460. Our church cemetery is still at this location.
In 1906 we moved to town, to our present home at 311 E. University Avenue, and in 1938 we changed our name to St. John's Methodist Church.
In 1968, when the Methodist Church joined with the Evangelical United Brethren Church, St. John's became St. John's United Methodist Church.
Come join us and share in our rich history and heritage of celebrating God's love.
For a complete history of our church, please visit this link.